Kind of Stue

Our new series "Kind of Stue" is a tribute to jazz and its artists, whose improvisational art emanates their very own nonchalance.
The title is based on one of the albums of the jazz story: "Kind of Blue" by Miles Davis, recorded in 1959, but timeless as ever. The series was opened on 02nd March 2017 by the German jazz legend Rolf Kuehn, who enchanted the listeners with his wit and elan.

Kind of Stue | Thursdays from 9:30pm on


More information on the events in our Facebook group Kind of Stue - Fine Jazz Jams.

  • Thu
    Apr
    19

    Events & Festivals

    MATTI KLEIN TRIO AND PAT APPLETON

    "The soulful jazz mix that keyboarder Matti Klein delivers together with Lars Zander on saxophone and bass clarinet as well as the drummer André Seidel, his companion from the band „Mo’ Blow”, proves to be highly addictive.

    The trigger for this can be found in the highly contagious grooves that are oozing out of every musical pore. The sound created by merely three musicians comes across as so much more than a trio. "Groove-Master Klein" on keys delivers the perfect amount of bass personally. With his left hand he plays a unique self-constructed Rhodes Bass-Piano, producing rich, warm and vibrant sound with quite a punch. Rarely performed 11/8 odd meters will blaze their trail through your ear canals - a groove extravaganza by the name of „Eleven feels like heaven“. Klein composed this electrifying gem from his hot collection of 70s vintage sounds.

    "These three musicians’ reminiscence of the soul jazz era directly reaches the hearts and minds of the enthused audience.“ Kerstin Rickert, Mindener Tageblatt

  • Thu
    Mar
    29

    Events & Festivals

    BETWEEN BERLIN AND PARIS - ILHEM

    llhem is a Nomad, an artistic explorer. With each song, each intonation of her profound voice she tells with a real sense of poetry, about life, her journeys and reveals her soul. Coupled with plenty of sass, cheek and charisma she sings about freedom, mixing languages and registers, aiming to unite through music, sharing and touching with her voice.

    Jazz and soul singer since her childhood, she has since travelled the world, invited to perform on stages across the planet, enriched by new cultures and encounters, all that crafted the woman, the artist and the musician she is today.

    Now flitting between Berlin and Paris, she is delighted to reunite with two of her dear friends and brilliant musicians Leon Schurz (Bass) and Robinson Sartorius (Guitar) of "Hot Milk Crew" and the result promises to be a powerful distillate of soul, jazz and groove.

  • Thu
    Feb
    22

    Events & Festivals

    BERLINALE SPECIAL WITH FRIEDRICH LIECHTENSTEIN

    The Berlin artist and entertainer Friedrich Liechtenstein became an Internet star with the "Supergeil" advertising campaign of a well-known grocery chain in Germany.

    Friedrich Liechtenstein presents excerpts from his new documentary:"The Fantastic Life of the Dolphin Man".
    To this song sketches from the concept album "ElevatorMan - The Majestic Sombreo Galaxy" will be performed.

    "Liam Mockridge and Friedrich Liechtenstein."

  • Thu
    Dec
    14

    Events & Festivals

    THE GREG FOAT GROUP

    "Kind of Stue" presents internationally-acclaimed UK jazz keyboardist Greg Foat who makes his german live debut celebrating the launch of his 5th studio album Galaxies Like Grains Of Sand (by Hampshire & Foat) released on Edinburgh’s Athens Of The North label.
    On this latest epic, he has collaborated with fellow Isle Of Wight resident Warren Hampshire, best known as multi-instrumentalist with Mercury Award nominated The Bees. Previous albums on Jazzman Records have received widespread praise from the likes of Gilles Peterson, Jamie Cullum, BBC Scotland’s Jazz House and Chris Evans, and all are now highly sought after on the vinyl collectors’ scene.
    The Greg Foat Group fuse unique influences as diverse as keyboard-led 1960s UK jazz (by legends such as Michael Garrick and Gordon Beck), through 1970s soundtracks (from minimal masterpieces like Roy Budd’s iconic “Get Carter” to string-laden epics, such as John Barry’s “Midnight Cowboy”), via obscure library or “mood music” (echoes of Basil Kirchin, Piero Umiliani and Alan “Mohawk” Hawkshaw come to mind).
    Foat’s virtuoso Hammond, vibes, Moog, electric piano, harpsichord and, even, church organ take centre stage, perfectly complemented by some of the scene’s great talents.

  • Thu
    Nov
    16

    Events & Festivals

    Xantoné Blacq

    Having worked with Amy Whinehouse, Randy Brecker, Jessie J and others, Xantoné Blacq’s music can easily be classified as of super high level. His music always retains the rhythmic excitement of Africa while his personallity and his music alike are full of colour and an uplifting beat.

    Xantoné will be supported by Thomas Stieger (bass), Chris Farr (drums) and Atomique Soul as DJ support.

  • Thu
    Nov
    02

    Events & Festivals

    chris adams TRIO ’68

    The TRIO `68 - has been playing warm for several years, unmistakable due to its tonal variety, authenticity, stylistic versatility, as well as its fancy and extensive repertoire - slowly but surely develops into a class of its own.

    Obliviously by all artistic and cultural dictates, fashion trends and media formats, but always self faithfully, it winds where art becomes entertainment and entertainment to art – friendship with both, but never married - always fresh, with a wink and
    sleepwalking security of classy and pop music.

    Next to fancy, well pointed instrumental compositions and sharp cut songs in German, also counts jazz literature, American songbook as well as exquisite Brazilian Repertoire to the “state of the art” of the trio.

  • Thu
    Oct
    05

    Events & Festivals

    Reopening night with the Bossarenova Trio

    For the reopening of our beloved KIND OF STUE Live-Jazz series we are happy to present Paula Morelenbaum, one of Brazil´s finest and most celebrated singers with her BOSSARENOVA trio, featuring Ralf Schmidt and Joo Kraus, two award winning protagonists of the German Jazz Scene.

    BOSSARENOVA merges the European classical tradition with the repertoire from Brazil in a unique , powerful and venturous way. Usually playing in Europe’s most prestigious concert halls, it is a unique opportunity to enjoy this highly acclaimed trio in a very intimate setting.

    Paula Morelenbaum: vocals
    Ralf Schmid: piano
    Joo Kraus: trumpet

  • Thu
    Jun
    15

    Events & Festivals

    Céline Rudolph & Helio Alves

    The love of Brazilian music led the vocalist and songwriter Céline Rudolph on a global journey around the world. You may find the rather effortless musical floating and drifting of Céline Rudolph’s vocal artistry above a mellow mixture of rhythmic inspirations, all in all deceivingly relaxed but nonetheless highly sophisticated. She was lucky to share her passion for improvisation early on in her career during vocal encounters with Lauren Newton, Bobby Mc Ferrin, Jay Clayton and Judy Niemack. Céline is beyond happy to now play her first live gig at Kind of Stue with spectacular musician Helio Alves as the duo connects the ease and natural flow of Brazilian rhythm with the great jazz tradition and Céline’s own songs.

  • Thu
    Jun
    01

    Events & Festivals

    THE EASY LOOKING SHOW

    The Berlin artist and entertainer Friedrich Liechtenstein became a famous internet star with a campagne for a German food chain.
    Mousse T. is one of the best remixers from Germany which earned him a Grammy nomination.
    Together, Mousse T and Friedrich Liechtenstein are collecting ideas for songs. They will perform unpublished song material and favorits. Friedrich Liechtenstein is improvising texts and ideas on the spot. Fine people in a fine environment.

  • Thu
    May
    18

    Events & Festivals

    Matti Klein Trio featuring Natalie Greffel

    Berlin-born keyboardist and piano virtuoso Matti Klein has recently debuted his first project as a leader „Hands on Soul“, combining catchy hooks and funky grooves with his passion for vintage instruments. On 18th May 2017, the trio is joined by afro-danish singer Natalie Greffel, a young, powerful and multifaceted artist who will perform her own brazil jazz flavoured compositions and spoken word artistry together Matti Klein’s unique groove assembly of vintage keys, bass clarinet/sax and drums.

  • Thu
    May
    04

    Events & Festivals

    Andrea Benini, Gianluca Petrella & Rosa Brunello

    Berlin-based Italian multi-instrumentalist, producer and composer ANDREA BENINI and international Trombone virtuoso GIANLUCA PETRELLA have since a while ago embarked on exploration of the complexity and multiplicity of modern rhythm aiming at the discovery of a sound. This Thursday 4th of May they are joined by ROSA BRUNELLO on double bass to give the sound more vibrations, depth, and extra warmth while interpreting some of their favorite music paying tribute to Monk, Ellington, Davis and Rollins.

Kind of Stue

Unsere neue Reihe "Kind of Stue" ist eine Hommage an den Jazz und seine Künstler, deren Improvisationskunst ihre ganz eigene Lässigkeit ausstrahlt.
Der Titel ist angelehnt an eines der Alben der Jazzgeschichte: „Kind of Blue“ von Miles Davis, aufgenommen im Jahr 1959, doch zeitlos wie eh und je. Eröffnet wurde die Reihe am 02. März 2017 von der deutschen Jazzlegende Rolf Kühn, der die Zuhörer mit seinem Esprit und Elan verzauberte.

Kind of Stue | Donnerstags ab 21:30 Uhr | Termine werden auf unserer Webseite bekannt gegeben

Mehr Informationen zu den Events in unserer Facebook Gruppe Kind of Stue - Fine Jazz Jams.

  • Thu
    Apr
    19

    Events & Festivals

    MATTI KLEIN TRIO AND PAT APPLETON

    "Der gefühlvolle Jazz-Mix, den Keyboarder Matti Klein zusammen mit Lars Zander an Saxophon und Bassklarinette sowie dem Schlagzeuger André Seidel, seinem Begleiter der Band "Mo' Blow", liefert, macht süchtig. Sie treten gemeinsam mit Pat Appleton auf.

    Der Auslöser dafür sind die hoch ansteckenden Grooves. Matti Klein spielt mit seiner linken Hand ein einzigartiges, selbstgebautes Rhodes Bass-Piano, das einen satten, warmen und lebhaften Klang mit viel Punch erzeugt. Selten gespielte 11/8 ungerade Meter werden sich ihren Weg durch Ihre Gehörgänge bahnen - eine Groove-Extravaganz mit dem Namen "Eleven feels like heaven". Klein komponierte dieses elektrisierende Juwel aus seiner Sammlung von 70er-Jahre-Klängen.

    "Die Reminiszenz dieser drei Musiker an die Soul-Jazz-Epoche erreicht direkt die Herzen und Köpfe des begeisterten Publikums." Kerstin Rickert, Mindener Tageblatt.

  • Thu
    Mar
    29

    Events & Festivals

    ZWISCHEN BERLIN UND PARIS - ILHEM

    llhem ist eine Nomadin, eine künstlerische Entdeckerin. Mit jedem Lied, jeder Intonation ihrer tiefen Stimme erzählt sie mit Sinn für Poesie, über das Leben, ihre Reisen und enthüllt ihre Seele.

    Gepaart mit viel Charisma singt sie über Freiheit, mischt Sprachen und Tonlagen, um sich durch Musik zu vereinen, zu teilen und mit ihrer Stimme zu berühren. Seit ihrer Kindheit ist sie Jazz- und Soulsängerin, seit ihrer Kindheit hat sie die Welt bereist, ist auf Bühnen auf der ganzen Welt aufzutreten. All diese Kulturen und Begegnungen haben Sie zu der Künstlerin gemacht, die sie heute ist.

    Nun pendelt sie zwischen Berlin und Paris und freut sich, mit zwei ihrer Freunde und brillanten Musiker Leon Schurz (Bass) und Robinson Sartorius (Gitarre) von "Hot Milk Crew" wieder zusammen zu kommen. Das Ergebnis verspricht ein kraftvolles Destillat aus Soul, Jazz und Groove zu werden.

  • Thu
    Feb
    22

    Events & Festivals

    BERLINALE SPECIAL MIT FRIEDRICH LIECHTENSTEIN

    Der Berliner Künstler und Entertainer Friedrich Liechtenstein wurde mit der „Supergeil“-Werbe-Kampagne einer bekannten Lebensmittelkette in Deutschland ein Internetstar.

    Friedrich Liechtenstein präsentiert Ausschnitte aus seinem neuen Dokumentarfilm: "Das Fantastische Leben des Delfinmannes".
    Dazu werden Songskizzen aus dem Konzeptalbum "ElevatorMan - The Majestic Sombreo Galaxy" performt.

    "Liam Mockridge und Friedrich Liechtenstein".

  • Thu
    Dec
    14

    Events & Festivals

    THE GREG FOAT GROUP

    "Kind of Stue" präsentiert den international anerkannten britischen Jazz-Keyboarder Greg Foat, der sein deutsches Live-Debüt feiert und den Start seines fünften Studioalbums "Galaxies Like Grains Of Sand" (von Hampshire & Foat) herausgebracht vom Label Athens Of The North aus Edinburg.
    In diesem neuesten Epos hat er mit Warren Hampshire, besser bekannt als Multiinstrumentalist der "The Bees" und mit dem Mercury Award nominiert. Frühere Alben von Jazzman Records wurden unter anderen von Gilles Peterson, Jamie Cullum, BBC Schottlands Jazz House und Chris Evans weithin gelobt, und sind in der Vinylsammlerszene heiss begehrt.
    Die Greg Foat Group vereint einzigartige Einflüsse wie Keyboard-lastigen UK-Jazz der 1960er Jahre (von Legenden wie Michael Garrick und Gordon Beck), Soundtracks aus den 1970er Jahren (von Minimal-Meisterwerken wie Roy Budd's "Get Carter" bis hin zu String-geladenen Epen, wie als John Barrys "Midnight Cowboy", über eine obskure Bibliothek oder "Mood Music" (Echos von Basil Kirchin, Piero Umiliani und Alan "Mohawk" Hawkshaw kommen in den Sinn).
    Foats Virtuose Hammond, Vibes, Moog, E-Piano, Cembalo und sogar Kirchenorgel stehen im Mittelpunkt, perfekt ergänzt durch einige der großen Talente der Szene.

  • Thu
    Nov
    16

    Events & Festivals

    Xantoné Blacq

    Xantoné Blacq hat schon mit Musiklegenden wie Amy Whinehouse, Randy Brecker, und Jessie J gearbeitet und seine Musik kann ohne Zweifel als außergewöhnlich bezeichnet werden. Stets seiner Heimat Afrika treu, zeigt seine Musik den lebensfrohen Rhythmus des Kontinents und gleichzeitig Xantoné’s Persönlichkeit, farbenfroh, strahlend und belebend.

    Begleitet wird er bei uns von Thomas Stieger (Bass), Chriss Farr (Drums) und Atomique Soul als DJ.

  • Thu
    Nov
    02

    Events & Festivals

    chris adams TRIO ’68

    Das TRIO `68 – ist seit einigen Jahren schon warm gespielt, unverwechselbar auf Grund seiner klanglichen Vielfalt, Authentizität, stilistischen Versiertheit, sowie seines ausgefallenem und umfangreichen Repertoires und entwickelt sich langsam aber sicher zu einer Klasse für sich.

    Unbeirrt an allen Kunst- und Kulturdiktaten, Modetrends und Medienformaten vorbei, sich selbst immer
    treu, schlängelt es sich dort wo Kunst zur Unterhaltung und Unterhaltung zur Kunst wird - mit beiden
    befreundet, aber mit keiner verheiratet - immer frisch, mit einem Augenzwinkern und schlafwandlerischer Sicherheit an der klassischen und der Unterhaltungsmusik vorbei.

    Neben originellen, gut pointierten Instrumentalkompositionen und scharf geschnittenen Songs in deutscher Sprache, zählt auch Jazzliteratur, American Songbook sowie ein erlesenes brasilianisches
    Repertoire passend zum “state of the art” des Trios.

  • Thu
    Oct
    05

    Events & Festivals

    Reopening night with the Bossarenova Trio

    Für das Reopening unserer geliebten KIND OF STUE Live-Jazz-Serie freuen wir uns, Paula Morelenbaum, eine der besten und berühmtesten Sängerinnen Brasiliens mit ihrem BOSSARENOVA-Trio bei uns zu haben. Begleitet wird Sie von Ralf Schmidt und Joo Kraus, zwei preisgekrönte Protagonisten des Deutschen Jazz Szene.

    BOSSARENOVA verbindet die europäische und klassische Tradition mit dem Repertoire aus Brasilien in einer einzigartigen, kraftvollen und waghalsigen Weise. In der Regel treten Sie in den größten Konzerthallen Europas auf, umso mehr freuen wir uns dieses tolle Trio in einer sehr intimen Umgebung genießen zu können.

    Paula Morelenbaum: Gesang
    Ralf Schmid: Klavier
    Joo Kraus: Trompete

  • Thu
    Jun
    15

    Events & Festivals

    Céline Rudolph & Helio Alves

    Die Liebe zur brasilianischen Musik führte die Sängerin und Songwriterin Céline Rudolph um die ganze Welt. Ihre Vokals versprühen eine Leichtigkeit und einen musikalischen Fluss der gepaart mit sanften Rhythmen entspannend, aber stets anspruchsvoll daherkommt. Céline hatte das Glück Ihre Leidenschaft zur Improvisation früh in Ihrer Karriere zu entdecken und gemeinsam mit Künstlern wie Lauren Newton, Bobby Mc Ferrin, Jay Clayton und Judy Niemack zu verfeinern. Beim Kind of Stue freut Céline sich darauf gemeinsam mit Helio Alves aufzutreten, um gemeinsam die natürliche Schönheit von brasilianischen Rhythmen mit Jazz-Traditionen und ihren eigenen Songs zu mixen.

  • Thu
    Jun
    01

    Events & Festivals

    THE EASY LOOKING SHOW

    Der Berliner Künstler und Entertainer Friedrich Liechtenstein wurde mit der „Supergeil“-Werbe-Kampagne einer bekannten Lebensmittelkette in Deutschland ein Internetstar.
    Mousse T. gilt seit langem als der beste Remixer aus Deutschland, was ihm auch eine Grammy-Nominierung einbrachte.
    Zusammen sammel Mousse T und Friedrich Liechtenstein Song Ideen. Mousse T. spielt für Sie unveröffentlichtes Material und Lieblingssongs. Friedrich Liechtenstein improvisiert Texte und Songideen. Feine Leute in einer feinen Situation.

  • Thu
    May
    18

    Events & Festivals

    Matti Klein Trio featuring Natalie Greffel

    Der Berliner Keyboarder und Virtuoso am Klavier Matti Klein stellte kürzlich sein neues Projekt "Hands on Soul" vor. Dabei verschmelzen seine Leidenschaft für alte Instrumente mit cleveren Zeilen und belebenden Beats. Am 18. Mai 2017 wird das Trio um Matti Klein von Natalie Greffel begleitet. Mit ihrer einzigartigen Note von brazilianischen Kompositionen gibt Sie dem Trio für einen Abend einen ganz neuen Klang.

  • Thu
    May
    04

    Events & Festivals

    Andrea Benini, Gianluca Petrella & Rosa Brunello

    Der italienische multi-instrumentale Produzent und Komponist Andrea Benini und der international Meister der Posaune Gianluca Petrella entdecken seit einiger Zeit gemeinsam die Vielseitigkeit moderner Rhythmen. Am 4. Mai werden ergänzt Rosa Brunello am Bass das Duo um den Sound mit zusätzlicher Wärme zu füllen. Gemeinsam spielen Sie Musik von Monk, Ellington, Davis und Rollins.